Prime Minister Abe has declared a State of Emergency

On April 7, Prime Minister Abe declared a State of Emergency in seven prefectures in Japan due to COVID-19.

The prefectures are Saitama, Chiba, Tokyo, Kanagawa, Osaka, Hyogo, and Fukuoka, and the state of emergency is effective until May 6.  

The governors of these prefectures will decide and announce specific measures that are applicable in each prefecture.